Call For Papers

IWOMP is the annual workshop dedicated to the promotion and advancement of all aspects of parallel programming with OpenMP. This pioneering workshop has been attracting an International audience of leading academic and industrial experts since 2005 and is the premier forum to present and discuss issues, trends, recent research ideas, and results related to parallel programming with OpenMP.

We solicit quality submissions of unpublished technical papers that detail innovative, original research and development related to OpenMP.

IWOMP 2021 will be hosted by the High Performance Computing research group at the University of Bristol, UK.



As computing hardware has evolved from simple core reproduction to advanced SIMD units, deeper memories, and heterogeneous computing, OpenMP has also evolved and extended its application interface to harness new capabilities throughout the spectrum of hardware advances. New features and extensions of the OpenMP 5.0 interface have taken major steps to provide control of the parallelism within the paradigms and complexity of modern C/C++ and Fortran programming languages. OpenMP enhancements range from operational aspects deep within the vector execution units, up through the cores and memory, and beyond, to offloading across accelerator devices.

Advances in technologies, such as multi-core processors and OpenMP devices (accelerators such as GPGPUs, DSPs or FPGAs), Multiprocessor Systems on a Chip (MPSoCs), and recent developments in OpenMP itself (e.g., metadirectives and variants for selecting device- and architecture-specific directives) present new opportunities and challenges for software and hardware developers. Recent advances in the C, C++ and Fortran base languages also offer interesting opportunities and challenges to the OpenMP programming model.

OpenMP: Enabling Massive Node-Level Parallelism

We now have CPU-only nodes with 128 cores or even 160 cores (before we get started on hardware threads), and of course GPUs add to this too. This year’s theme highlights the massive node-level parallelism we now have available and papers relating to this theme are particularly welcome.


All topics related to parallelism in OpenMP are of interest, including:

  • Vectorization
  • Offloading to devices
  • Memory model
  • Memory policies and management
  • Tasking
  • Performance portability
  • Runtime environment
  • Performance analysis and modeling
  • Tools
  • Proposed OpenMP extensions
  • OpenMP applications in any domain
    • Scientific and numerical computations, machine learning, computer graphics, multimedia, information retrieval, optimization, text processing, data mining, finance, signal and image processing and video games.

Paper Submission, Author Guidelines and Registration

Submitted papers for review should be limited to 12 pages (not counting references) and follow LNCS Guidelines.

Authors of accepted papers will be asked to prepare a final paper of up to 15 pages (including references). As in previous years, IWOMP 2021 will publish formal proceedings of the accepted papers in Springer’s Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

Authors should consult Springer’s authors’ instructions and use their proceedings templates, either for LaTeX or for Word, for the preparation of their papers. Springer’s proceedings LaTeX templates are available in Overleaf. Springer encourages authors to include their ORCIDs in their papers. In addition, the corresponding author of each accepted paper, acting on behalf of all of the authors of that paper, must complete and sign a Consent-to-Publish form (emailed separately after the notification of acceptance). The corresponding author signing the copyright form should match the corresponding author marked on the paper. Once the files have been sent to Springer, changes relating to the authorship of the papers cannot be made.

Important Dates

Submission Deadline Friday 21 May 2021
Friday 14 May 2021
Acceptance Notifications Monday 14 June 2021
Camera Ready Copy Deadline Friday 9 July 2021

General Chair

Simon McIntosh-Smith, University of Bristol

Program Chair

Bronis R. de Supinski, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)

Tutorial Chair

Tom Deakin, University of Bristol
Yun (Helen) He, NERSC

Publications Chair

Jannis Klinkenberg, RWTH Aachen University

Local Organiser Chair

Tim Lewis, University of Bristol

View full Program Committee